Comparison · checked 19 October and 1 November 2026
PointLit vs DEXEF: which one suits your shop?
DEXEF sells Arabic accounting and POS software as one-time licences priced in US dollars, and states that it works offline, with the ETA e-invoice system, and on Windows, iOS and Android. PointLit is POS and inventory software for shops, paid monthly to yearly in Egyptian pounds, with a Free plan for one shop and no ETA e-receipts yet.
What is the difference between PointLit and DEXEF?
The biggest difference is how you pay. DEXEF's price page lists its editions as licences you pay for once and, in its words, own for life. PointLit is a service: you pay up front for a month, 3 months, 6 months or a year, or stay on the Free plan with one shop.
DEXEF is also accounting software, with a cashier program among its products, and its cashier page states that it is compatible with the Egyptian Tax Authority's e-invoice system. PointLit is built for the shop floor: the till, shifts and the counted drawer, stock across branches, sizes and colours, and labels. It does not issue ETA documents yet.
Every fact about DEXEF below comes from DEXEF's own website, read on 19 October and 1 November 2026; the sources are listed at the end. Where two of its pages disagree, we say so. We make PointLit.
How do PointLit and DEXEF compare?
| What we compared | PointLit | DEXEF |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | POS and inventory software for shops | Arabic accounting software with a POS and a cashier program |
| How you pay | Up front for 1, 3, 6 or 12 months, in Egyptian pounds with VAT included, or the Free plan | Once, for a licence it describes as yours for life |
| Published prices | In Egyptian pounds, read live on our pricing page | In US dollars: POS USD 400, GREEN USD 700, BLUE USD 900, RED USD 1,500. Support and update fees are not stated on that page |
| Free plan | Yes: Starter, for one shop | Not clear: its POS page mentions a free or trial version, and its free accounting software page describes a 30-day trial |
| Free trial | 14 days of the Chain plan, no card, when registration opens | 30 days on its POS page; its e-invoice page says 15 days |
| Refunds | Payments are not refunded; cancelling stops the next renewal | Its POS page states a full refund of the contract value within three months |
| Selling when the internet drops | On every plan: cash and card sales during a shift, up to 200 on one till | Yes, as its POS and cashier pages state; which edition is not stated |
| Egyptian e-invoice and e-receipt (ETA) | Not yet; planned | States its cashier software is compatible with the ETA e-invoice system; e-receipts not stated |
| Branches | Chain plan: 3 included, more can be added; the Free plan and Counter are for one shop | POS edition: 1 branch and 1 warehouse. BLUE: 2 branches, 6 warehouses. RED: unlimited |
| Stock counts | Blind counts when you choose them, on every plan | Stock counts stated |
| How a stock figure is changed | Only by a new line: a sale, delivery, transfer, count or adjustment. Posted lines are never edited or deleted, and each keeps who made it and when, on every plan | Through an opening stock document, an Excel import of balances or a stocktake adjustment; permissions decide who may edit or delete stock vouchers. It states every movement is recorded with the user's name and time |
| Barcodes and scales | Barcode labels and a Barcode rule; a scale connects to the Windows app, and the cashier types the weight | Barcode printing and a barcode scale stated |
| Arabic | Full Arabic, right to left, and English | Describes itself as Arabic POS software |
| Where it runs | A web browser on a computer, tablet or phone, and a Windows app; no app-store apps yet | States Windows, iOS and Android, and describes a cloud POS |
What does DEXEF offer that PointLit does not?
- Paying once: an owner who prefers to buy a licence instead of paying every month or year can do that with DEXEF.
- Egyptian e-invoicing: DEXEF states that its cashier software is compatible with the ETA e-invoice system. PointLit does not issue ETA documents yet.
- A barcode scale: DEXEF lists a barcode scale. PointLit does not read the weight from a scale's barcode label; the cashier types the weight.
- Phones: DEXEF states that its cashier software runs on iOS and Android. PointLit runs in a phone's web browser and has no app in the stores yet.
- A refund window: DEXEF's POS page states a full refund within three months. PointLit does not refund payments.
Where is PointLit stronger?
- No large payment up front: once registration opens, start on the Free plan or pay for a month at a time, in Egyptian pounds, through InstaPay, Vodafone Cash or a bank transfer.
- Prices in Egyptian pounds, published: PointLit's plans and limits are on its pricing page, with VAT included. DEXEF's price page lists US dollars and does not state support or update fees.
- The same PointLit for every business: the web app is updated for everyone at once, with no new licence to buy.
- A blind close count: the cashier types the counted cash before PointLit shows the expected cash and the variance, and a closed shift cannot be reopened.
- Clothing and shoes: sizes and colours with their own barcodes, seasonal Collections, and reports such as Size curve and Stock ageing with its Dead stock verdict.
Which should you choose?
- If you want to pay once for a licence, ask the vendor what support and updates cost after the first year. If you need e-invoices for the Tax Authority now, choose a system that issues them today, and if you sell weighed goods with barcode scale labels, choose one that reads those labels at the till. PointLit does not issue e-invoices yet and does not read scale labels.
- Choose PointLit if you want to start without a large payment, keep your costs monthly or yearly in Egyptian pounds, and run one or more shops with honest shift closes and stock by size and colour, and you can wait for ETA support.
- If you are unsure, use both trials in the same week with the same twenty products, and print an Arabic receipt from each on your own printer.
Questions and answers
- Is a one-time licence cheaper than a subscription?
- Sometimes, over enough years. Compare the total over three years: the licence plus anything you pay for support, updates, extra branches and new versions, against three years of a plan. DEXEF's price page does not state support or update fees, so ask before you buy. PointLit's prices are on its pricing page, and the Free plan has no monthly price.
- Does DEXEF issue ETA e-receipts?
- DEXEF's cashier page states that it is compatible with the Egyptian Tax Authority's e-invoice system and issues numbered invoices under its requirements. The pages we read do not mention e-receipts for consumer sales, so ask DEXEF directly. PointLit does not issue e-receipts or e-invoices yet; support is planned.
- Which one keeps selling when the internet drops?
- Both say they can. PointLit keeps ringing cash and card sales during a shift on every plan, up to 200 on one till, and sends them when the line returns. DEXEF's POS and cashier pages state that it keeps recording sales without the internet and syncs when the connection returns.
- Can PointLit read a barcode scale label?
- No. PointLit does not read the weight or price from a scale's barcode label. A scale can be connected to the PointLit Windows app and tested from its settings, and at the till the cashier types the weight as the quantity. DEXEF lists a barcode scale on its pages.
- Can I move my products from DEXEF to PointLit?
- Not from a file yet: PointLit cannot import products, customers or stock from a file. Products are added on the Products screen, and a Barcode rule can give each new one a barcode. On Enterprise, moving your data is part of the support, by agreement.
Sources
Compare PointLit with DEXEF when registration opens
Registration is closed for now. Leave your details and we will tell you the moment it opens.
Request early access