Comparison · checked 19 October and 1 November 2026

POS software in Egypt compared: PointLit, Daftra, DEXEF and Loyverse

This page compares four POS systems sold to shops in Egypt using only what each vendor publishes on its own website, checked on 19 October and 1 November 2026. Daftra publishes monthly and yearly prices in Egyptian pounds, DEXEF sells one-time licences priced in US dollars, Loyverse charges nothing for its core POS, and PointLit has a Free plan and paid plans.


Head-to-head comparisons

  • PointLit vs Daftra

    A cloud business suite that says it issues ETA e-invoices, or a shop POS with a Free plan.

  • PointLit vs DEXEF

    A one-time licence that it says works with ETA e-invoicing, or a shop POS with a Free plan and monthly plans.

How was this comparison made?

Every fact about another system comes from that vendor's own website: its pricing page, its product pages and its pages about Egyptian e-invoicing. Each source is listed at the end of this page with the day it was read. Where a vendor's pages do not say something, the table says "not stated" rather than guessing, and where two of its pages disagree, it says so.

We make PointLit, so read this page knowing that. The page has no ratings and no scores, only facts you can check, and it says what another system offers that PointLit does not. PointLit's own prices are on our pricing page, read from the live price list. Prices and features change; check each vendor's page before you decide. If you find a fact here that is out of date, write to support@pointlit.com and we will correct it.

How do PointLit, Daftra, DEXEF and Loyverse compare?

Four POS systems sold in Egypt, from each vendor's own website, checked 19 October and 1 November 2026
What we comparedPointLitDaftraDEXEFLoyverse
Prices published in Egyptian poundsYesYesNo: its price page lists US dollarsNo: its pricing page lists US dollars
Published prices, as listedSee the live prices on our pricing pageBasic EGP 733 a month billed monthly, or EGP 5,874 a year. Advanced EGP 1,225 a month, or EGP 11,731 a year. Premium EGP 2,448 a month, or EGP 23,520 a yearOne-time licences: POS USD 400, GREEN USD 700, BLUE USD 900, RED USD 1,500. Support and update fees are not stated on that pageCore POS: no charge. Add-ons: unlimited sales history USD 5 a month per store, employee management USD 5 a month per employee, advanced inventory USD 25 a month per store. Prices exclude taxes
How it is billedUp front for 1, 3, 6 or 12 monthsMonthly or yearlyOnce, for a licence it describes as yours for lifeEach add-on monthly or yearly
Free planYes: Starter, for one shopNone listedNot clear: its POS page mentions a free or trial version, and its free accounting software page describes a 30-day trialYes: the core POS has no charge
Free trial14 days of the Chain plan, no card, when registration opens14 days, no credit card30 days on its POS page; another of its pages says 15 days14 days for each paid add-on
Selling when the internet dropsYes, on every plan: cash and card sales during a shift, up to 200 on one tillOffline POS terminals, on the Premium plan only, per its plans pageYes, as it states; the plan is not statedYes; refunds, adding customers and adding items need a connection, per its Arabic page
ArabicFull Arabic, right to left, and EnglishArabic and EnglishDescribes itself as Arabic POS softwareArabic website; apps in more than 30 languages, as it states
Egyptian e-invoice and e-receipt (ETA)Not yet; plannedStates integration with the ETA e-invoice system and issuing e-receiptsStates its cashier software is compatible with the ETA e-invoice system; e-receipts not statedNot mentioned
Several branchesChain plan: 3 included, more can be addedExtra branches as a paid add-onPOS edition: 1 branch. BLUE: 2. RED: unlimitedSeveral stores at no charge; some add-ons are priced per store
Stock countsBlind counts when you choose them, on every planStocktaking; the system quantity always shows on the count screen, per its help centreStock counts statedInventory counts, in the paid advanced inventory add-on
How a stock figure is changedOnly by a new line: a sale, delivery, transfer, count or adjustment. Posted lines are never edited or deleted, and each keeps who made it and when, on every planTyped in when a product is added or imported, then changed by documents and stocktaking. Invoices can be edited or deleted and a reconciled count undone, with stock recalculated; an activity log keeps who and when, per its help centreThrough an opening stock document, an Excel import of balances or a stocktake adjustment; permissions decide who may edit or delete stock vouchers. It states every movement is recorded with the user's name and timeTyped into the item's In stock field, on the till or in the back office, or imported from a file. The history of every change, by employee and date, is in the paid advanced inventory add-on
Where it runsA web browser on a computer, tablet or phone, and a Windows app; no app-store apps yetCloud on the web, a desktop POS app with an offline mode, and iOS and Android appsStates Windows, iOS and Android, and describes a cloud POSiOS and Android phones and tablets and Android POS devices; back office in a web browser

What does each one offer?

  • Daftra states that it is integrated with the Egyptian Tax Authority's e-invoice system and issues e-receipts, which PointLit does not do yet. Its plans page also lists accounting, HR, CRM and manufacturing modules, and it has iOS and Android apps.
  • DEXEF sells a one-time licence, for an owner who prefers to pay once, and states that its cashier software works with the ETA e-invoice system and runs on Windows, iOS and Android. Its RED edition lists a barcode scale.
  • Loyverse charges nothing for its core POS, runs as a phone and tablet app, and manages several stores at no charge. Its add-ons are priced in US dollars, and its pages do not mention Egyptian e-invoicing.
  • PointLit has a Free plan for one shop, publishes its prices in Egyptian pounds with VAT included, keeps selling through an internet cut during a shift on every plan, lets you count stock and the cash drawer blind, and is built around sizes, colours and seasonal collections, with transfers between branches on Chain. It does not issue ETA e-receipts yet and has no app-store apps.

Which one fits your shop?

  • If your business must issue ETA e-receipts now, choose a system that issues them today; PointLit does not yet. The table above quotes what each vendor states, and our ETA e-receipt explainer lists what to ask any vendor.
  • If you want one system for the till, accounting and payroll, choose one whose plans include those modules: PointLit is not a full accounting system.
  • If you would rather pay once for a licence, ask any vendor that sells one what support and updates cost after you buy. PointLit's paid plans are paid up front for 1, 3, 6 or 12 months.
  • If you want to start one shop at no monthly cost, compare PointLit's Free plan with Loyverse's core POS on Arabic receipts, Egyptian pound prices and what happens when the internet drops.
  • If you sell clothing or shoes in many sizes and colours, across seasons and branches, request early access to PointLit, and ask each of the others to show the same thing on your own products.

Why are Qoyod and other systems not in the table?

Qoyod is an accounting and POS system offered in Saudi Arabia and Jordan. On 19 October 2026 its own country menu marked Egypt as "Soon", so it is not offered to shops in Egypt yet and is left out of the table. We add a system when its own pages state the facts this table compares.

Questions and answers

Which POS software is best for a shop in Egypt?
There is no single best one; it depends on what your shop needs first. If you must issue ETA e-receipts now, choose a system that issues them today. Otherwise compare Arabic receipts on your own printer, what happens when the internet drops, stock counts, branches and the full price, and use each system's trial on a real day before you commit.
Which of these issue Egyptian ETA e-receipts?
On their own websites, Daftra states that it issues e-receipts through the e-receipt system, and DEXEF states that its cashier software is compatible with the ETA e-invoice system without mentioning e-receipts. Loyverse does not mention ETA. PointLit does not issue e-receipts or e-invoices yet; support is planned.
Which of these have a free plan?
PointLit's Starter plan is a Free plan for one shop, and Loyverse charges nothing for its core POS, with paid add-ons. Daftra lists no free plan and offers a 14-day trial. DEXEF's pages mention a free or trial version without saying whether it ends, and describe a 30-day trial.
Are these prices current?
They are the prices each vendor's own page showed on 19 October 2026, quoted with their currency. Vendors change their prices and offers, so check the source pages listed below before you decide. PointLit's own prices are on its pricing page, read from the live price list.
Is this comparison neutral?
We make PointLit, so it is not neutral, and we say so. To keep it fair, every fact about another system comes from that vendor's own website, with the source and the date, and the page says what another system offers that PointLit does not. Corrections go to support@pointlit.com.

Sources

  1. Daftra, Plans (English)
  2. Daftra, Plans (Arabic)
  3. Daftra, Egyptian e-invoice software page (Arabic)
  4. Daftra, desktop POS app page (Arabic)
  5. Daftra, home page (English)
  6. DEXEF, program price comparison page (Arabic)
  7. DEXEF, POS software page (Arabic)
  8. DEXEF, cashier software page (Arabic)
  9. DEXEF, electronic invoice software page (Arabic)
  10. DEXEF, accounting software trial page (Arabic)
  11. Loyverse, Pricing
  12. Loyverse, home page
  13. Loyverse, home page (Arabic)
  14. Loyverse, Advanced inventory
  15. Qoyod, home page with the country menu (English)

  1. Daftra, Entering opening balances (help centre)
  2. Daftra, Why the stock balance in the system differs from the physical count (help centre)
  3. Daftra, Activity log guide (help centre)
  4. Daftra, The inventory method in the system (help centre)
  5. DEXEF, Opening stock (items)
  6. DEXEF, Why DEXEF
  7. DEXEF, Storage authorizations
  8. DEXEF, Computer store warehouse page
  9. Loyverse, Working with the items list in the POS (help centre)
  10. Loyverse, Importing and exporting (help centre)
  11. Loyverse, Inventory history and valuation (help centre)

Compare PointLit on your own counter

Registration is closed for now. Leave your details and we will tell you the moment it opens.

Request early access